Are you worried with your poor Google AdSense earnings despite having
a decent traffic to your website and want to increase your AdSense
earnings? You are in the right place. We will give you 8 important tips
to increase your AdSense revenue + explain all the important terms
related to AdSense earnings.
Google AdSense is a great platform
to earn thousands of millions of dollars per month and there are blogs,
YouTube channels and websites from which people are actually earning
thousands of dollars per month because they know the art of how to earn
revenue from Google AdSense. When you will go through the Tips you will
get to know that what were the important things and practices you were
missing.
An average blogger or YouTuber who struggles with
AdSense earnings has RPM around $0.40 to $0.70 which means that he
hardly earns $40 to $50 from 80,000 to 1,00000 views per month whereas
bloggers and YouTubers who follow the proper practices have RPMs higher
than $5-$10 and are earning good money. There was a blogger who was
showing his AdSense earnings live on YouTube had RPM of $42. You can
imagine that how much he would have earned from AdSense!
In this post we will cover following topics:
- What Are RPM, CTR & CPC
- How To Earn $100/Per Day With 15,000 Visits Per Day
- 8 Tips To Increase Your AdSense Revenue
What Are RPM, CTR & CPC?
It
is important for you to fully understand RPM, CTR & CPC because you
will come across these terms again and again on Google AdSense + these
terms help you to understand how your AdSense earnings are calculated
and how a change in their value impacts your earnings.
01. RPM (Page Revenue Per Thousand Impressions)
Page
RPM is the average earnings per thousand page views. RPM is calculated
by dividing your estimated earnings by the number of page views you
received, then multiplying by 1000.
RPM is calculated by this formula:
- RPM = (Estimated earnings / Number of page views) x 1000.
For example, if you earned an estimated $0.20 from 25 page views, then your page RPM would be equal to:
- RPM = ($0.20 / 25) x 1000 = $8.
How To Check RPM On AdSense
- Go to your Google AdSense account.
- Click "Reports".
- Click "Overview" tab.
- You
can see Page RPM in the 5th column of the table. Here it is $1.40. By
default Google AdSense shows you the RPM of last 7 days. You can change
the number of days as we have shown with the upward arrow.
- Click the Page RPM to see its graph.
02. CTR(Clickthrough Rate)
A
CTR is a ratio or percentage showing how often people who see your ad
end up clicking it. CTR can be used to measure how well your keywords
and ads are performing. It is the number of clicks that your ad receives
divided by the number of times your ad is shown.
A high CTR is a good indication that users find your ads helpful and
relevant. You can use CTR to measure which ads
and keywords are successful for you and which need to be improved. The
more your keywords and ads relate to each other and to your website content,
the more likely a user is to click on your ad.
CTR is calculated by this formula:
- CTR = (Clicks ÷ Impressions) x 100.
For example, if you had 10 clicks and 200 impressions, then your CTR would be 5%.
Here is how:
- CTR = (10 ÷ 200) x 100 = > (0.05) x 100 = 5%.
How To Check CTR On Google AdSense
- Go to your Google AdSense account.
- Click "Reports".
- Click "Clicks" tab.
- You can see the CTR in the 3rd column, here it is 0.42%.
- Click CTR to see its graph.
Each of your ad units and keywords have their own CTRs that you can see listed in your Google AdSense account.
- Click "Reports".
- Click "Ad units".
- Click the "Clicks" tab.
- Click "CTR".
- Here Blue Bars show the estimated earnings by a ad unit whereas Green Lines show you the CTR of each ad unit.
- There
are 3 types of graphs i.e Timeline graph, Bar Chart(default) & Pie
Chart. We have shown with an arrow from where you can change the graph
type.
- Scroll down to see the detail report of each ad unit.
- You can see the detail report about the CTRs of each ad unit.
03. CPC(Cost Per Click)
The
CPC is the amount you earn each time a user clicks on your ad. CPC is
calculated by dividing the estimated earnings by the number of clicks
received.
CPC is calculated by this Formula on AdSense report:
- CPC = Estimated Earnings / Clicks.
For instance your Estimated Earnings is $5.46 for 66 clicks then your CPC would be $0.08.
- CPC = 5.46 / 66 = $ 0.08.
How To Check CPC On Google AdSense
- Open Google AdSense account.
- Click "Reports".
- Click "Clicks" tab.
- You can see the CPC in the 5th column. Click CPC to show its graph.
Each of your ad units and keywords have their own CPCs that you can see listed in your Google AdSense account report.
- Click Reports.
- Click "Ad units".
- Click the "Clicks" tab.
- Click "CPC".
- Here Blue Bars show the estimated earnings by a ad unit whereas Purple Lines show you the CPC of each ad unit.
- There
are 3 types of graphs i.e Timeline graph, Bar Chart(default) & Pie
Chart. We have shown with an arrow from where you can change the graph
type.
- Scroll down to see the detail report of each ad unit.
- You can see the detail report of CPCs of each ad unit.
How To Earn $100/Per Day
You
must have good understanding of RPM, CTR & CPC now. So let's do an
example that how you can earn $100/per day with a traffic of 15,000
visits per day.
Let's assume that your CTR is 1%, CPC is $0.5 and your RPM is $2.
The formula is:
- Earnings Per Day = (Visitors x CTR% x CPC) + (Visitors/1000 x RPM).
Put the values into the formula:
- (15000 x 1% x 0.5) + (15000/1000 x 2) = > (15000/100 x 0.5) + (15 x 2) = 75 + 3 = $105
8 Tips To Increase AdSense Revenue
- These are 8 important tips to increase your AdSense Revenue up to 30% and even more.
01. Create More Quality Content
More
quality content leads to more visitors and make your website rank
higher in search engines which ultimately brings more clicks to your
ads. Consistently create quality content for your website.
Do you know that exactly when you become a successful blogger?
Answer
is when at least more than 70% of your articles bring traffic to your
blog consistently. When people start blogging, for first 1 to 2 years
only 10% to 15% articles are ranked in Google and bring traffic to their
blog, but rest of the articles remain idle and Google ignores them.You
can research on those articles which are ranked in Google and bringing
traffic to your blog like what are the things that you have done
correctly there.
Quality
content involves lot of things like the content should be around your
article's title and your article must fulfill what ever your title
suggests. If you are providing a solution make sure to write the content
by focusing the visitor not search engines like what could be the best
content that will satisfy or impress the visitor and solve his problem.
You
can do a small research on Google before you write your article by
reviewing similar articles that are ranked in Google like how many words
in them, how they are structured etc. Use headings like h1, h2, h3 etc.
Make sure to optimize the images and always write meaningful names and
add image title text.
Whenever
you write articles make sure to consider the mobile view as well
because Google bots & crawlers give preference to mobile-friendly
content more. Bloggers mostly write articles from their computers so
they always think of desktop view of articles. If you write paragraphs
of more than 3 or 4 lines, on mobile they will be too large and will be
difficult to read for visitors.
First 2 paragraphs of your
article are always very important, so in the 1st paragraph define the
problem and in the 2nd paragraph briefly give an introduction or explain
your solution. After publishing your article don't forget to review because it might need necessary changes or updates.
A very common question that most of the bloggers ask, like what is the ideal length of a blog post?
From
SEO point of view the ideal length of blog post is 25,00 words or 1500
to 2500 words. Google gives priority to lengthy articles. The other
benefit of lengthy articles is that, on lengthy articles Google AdSense
shows more ads and relevant ads, so it also helps to improve your
AdSense revenue as well because more relevant ads means more clicks.
02. Create High CPC Content
Creating
high CPC content is the most important thing that most of the bloggers
miss and have no idea. Bloggers and YouTubers who know the art of
creating high CPC content are the ones who actually earn big amount of
money from Google AdSense.
CPC
as you know is the cost per click as we have explained above plays a
very important role in your AdSense earnings. Do you know that every
keyword or keywords have a different CPC. Advertisers pay different
amount for different keywords based on location and network.
There
are two terms in Google AdSense i,e Top of Page Bid(Low Range) &
Top of Page Bid(High Range) that define how much advertisers pay for
different keywords per click.
Top
of page bid(low range) tells you the lower range of what advertisers
have historically paid for a keyword’s top of page bid, based on your
location and Search Network settings. The average CPC of your keywords
may vary.
Top of page bid(high
range) tells you the higher range of what advertisers have historically
paid for a keyword’s top of page bid, based on your location and Search
Network settings. The average CPC of your keywords may vary.
Average
CPC varies widely by business and industry type, but the average CPC
across all industries is approximately $2 to $2.32.
Here are some of the keywords that have the highest CPCs:
- Insurance: $ 59 CPC
- Gas/Electricity: $57 CPC
- Loans: $50 CPC
- Mortgage: $44 CPC
- Attorney: $48 CPC
- Lawyer: $43 CPC
- Donate: $42 CPC
- Conference Call: $42 CPC
- Degree: $40 CPC
- Credit: $38 CPC
If
your blog niche or content is relevant to these keywords your AdSense
earnings will be much higher than others. For Example you have a blog
about finance where you write about economy, banking, insurance, car
insurance etc. Now Google AdSense after assessing your content will show
ads relevant to finance and insurance. Relevant ads greatly increase
the number of clicks on ads that ultimately leads to high earnings.
Remember
that every keyword has different Bid Rate per click and it also varies
from country to country. Advertisers from countries like United States,
UK, Norway, Canada etc offer high bid rates as compare to countries like
India and Pakistan.
Let's
take an example of two different keywords one with low CPC and one with
high CPC. We searched the CPC of keyword "blogging" its lower range is
only $0.030 and higher range is $0.22. If someone will click on ads
relevant to keyword "blogging" you will earn in between this range per
click.
Then
we searched for keyword "insurance" by setting the location United
States. Its lower range for keyword "insurance" is $16.09 per click and
the higher range is $61.52 per click. We also searched for keyword "car
insurance" its higher range is $153.89 per click. It is super amazing.
The
keywords that have higher CPC there is HIGH competition and where the
CPC is low there is LOW competition on Google. So it means that people
do lot of research before they choose keywords for their articles and
ultimately write content for keywords with higher search volumes and
higher bid rates.
But How To Find the High CPC Keywords?
By
Keyword Research Tools. There are plenty of keyword research tools in
market like SEMrush, Adzooma etc, but they are not free. Google Ads
offers one of the best free keyword research tool i.e Google Ads Keyword
Planner. The above CPCs of keywords were collected from Google Keyword
Planner.
We have created a separate article for Google AdSense Keyword Planner where we have guided how to signup and how to use it.
03. Focus On Top Earning Posts
By
focusing on your top earning posts you can take lot of information from
them that why they are working well and bringing consistent traffic and
why some pages don't. You can also make necessary updates to improve
their performance further. The more traffic a post/page brings to your
website there is higher probability of number of clicks on ads.
Your
blog Stats & Google Analytics provide you the detail information
about the posts which bring the most number of visitors.
04. Enable All Ad Formats
Google AdSense offers 4 ad formats. By enabling them you can greatly increase your AdSense revenue.
- In-Page Ads.
- Matched Content
- Anchor Ads
- Vignette
In-Page
Ads are those ads that appear within the content of your posts and
pages. AdSense automatically inserts these ads by finding the suitable
places.
Match Content is a promotion tool that can increase revenue and engagement by showing ads relevant to your content.
Anchor Ads are those ads that stick to edge of the user's screen and easily dismissible.
Vignette are mobile full-screen ads that appear between page loads.
How To Enable/Disable AdSense Ad Formats
- Go to your Google AdSense account.
- Click "Ads" from sidebar.
- Click "Overview".
- In the "All your sites" section in front of your website URL click the Pencil(Edit) icon.
- In your right-side you will see the "Ad formats". Click to expand.
- You will see the all 4 ad formats.
- Drag the slider towards right side to enable them.
- Click "Apply to site".
05. Use Display/Responsive Ad Format
Google
AdSense offers you different type of Google Ads i.e Responsive(Display)
Ads & Fixed Ads. Display Ad units are responsive by default. There
are 3 benefits of responsive ads. One, they automatically adjust their
size according to the available space and type of device like computers,
tablets and smartphones. Regardless of which device users use to visit
your site, Display Ad units can help you provide a great ad experience.
Second, Responsive Ads makes your website load faster as compare to Fixed Ads, which improves your website ranking.
Third, Responsive Ads increase your AdSense revenue by displaying the most relevant ads, but how?
For
instance you set Fixed Ad format somewhere on your blog. Google AdSense
finds the most relevant ad for your content, but AdSense comes to know
that the advertiser has not provided the banners which fit to your Fixed
ad slot, as a result Google AdSense might pick a random ad that fits to
your fixed ad slot and that could be irrelevant as well.
Majority
visitors don't click on irrelevant ads. This is where the Responsive
Ads give you the extra edge because when Google AdSense finds the
relevant ad to your content it displays the most suitable banner
provided by the advertiser. Google AdSense also recommends to use the
Display/Responsive Ads.
How To Create Display Ad Units
- Go to your Google AdSense account.
- Click "Ads".
- Click "Overview".
- Click "By ad unit".
- Click "Display ads".
- Click "Ad size" at your right side.
- Click "Responsive".
- Click "Create".
- To change the Ad Size of your existing ad units scroll down.
- Click the Edit(Pencil) icon.
- Choose the Ad size type as we have shown in the above step.
- You can
change the ad size from your blog admin panel as well like Blogger
provides you the option to change the ad size directly from Layout. It
will be automatically updated in Google AdSense.
06. Test Ads On Different Slots
Google
AdSense provides you the detail report about each Ad Unit like how much
revenue each ad unit generates, its clicks, CPC, CTR etc. You can also
change the slots of ads as well like the ad that does not perform well
might perform better in some other slot. It is a best practice to
optimize your website design for ads. The ads should be placed in a way
that they should not tease the website visitors and clearly visible.
How To Check Which Ad Unit Brings How Much Revenue In AdSense
- Open your AdSense account.
- Click "Reports".
- Click "Ad units".
- You can check each Ad Unit's estimated earnings on graphs as well as on detail report.
07. Target Countries With High CPC Rates
As we mentioned earlier that every keyword has different bid rate per click and it also
varies from country to country. Advertisers from countries like United
States, UK, Norway, Canada etc offer high bid rates as compare to
countries like India and Pakistan.
Google
AdSense provides you detail report about Countries where you can see
your estimated earnings from each country. You will see that RPM, CPC
& CTR vary from country to country. So by analyzing this report you
can target those countries more from where your ads are getting more
money. This can greatly increase your Google AdSense revenue.
How To Check Countries Report On AdSense
- Open your Google AdSense account.
- Click "Reports" from left sidebar.
- Click "Countries".
- You
can view estimated earnings directly from the map by hovering mouse
over a country and you can also see the detail report of your estimated
earnings from each country.
08. Use AdSense Ready Responsive Templates
Advance
responsive AdSense Ready templates/themes also have huge impact on your
AdSense revenue. Responsive templates are designed in a way that they
fully support AdSense ads. Often people use templates which are not
compatible with AdSense and not suitable for displaying ads, ultimately
results in poor AdSense revenue.
In
Responsive templates special slots are allocated for ads where they can
be easily noticed without disturbing the design & content, which
ultimately brings more clicks on ads. More clicks means more AdSense
revenue.
Here are top quality professional responsive templates that you might find interesting:
So
this post ends here with the last tip. We hope that you must have
learnt lot of important things about Google AdSense and how to increase
your AdSense revenue.
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